reddit could've been called "hotlex" or "voxaloo"

I found these gems in an email I sent to Steve back on April 22, 2005. These are just a few of the names we tossed around before I discovered "reddit.com" -- good thing I did....

sosnoo.com
mysnoo.com
hotagg.com
aggpop.com
hotsnoo.com
snoopop.com
perkma.com
hotlex.com
perkperk.com
voxperk.com
lexpop.com
gaxoo.com
freshperk.com
perkoo.com
perklu.com
popfresh.com
perkla.com
dosedose.com
perkdose.com
ripefresh.com
laperk.com
perkle.com
populoo.com
frescoperk.com
frescoo.com
nitlu.com
nitman.com
redsnoo.com
ripered.com
snoovox.com
voxloo.com
voxaloo.com

More stories from the early days of reddit can be found in my WSJ bestseller, Without Their Permission.

12 responses
Very cool .. wondering how catchy the names "hotlex" or "voxaloo" might have been..
hotsnoo.com could have been a real winner!
Excuse me but when I would find your book on Kindle? I'm writing you from South America and it is *very* difficult to find physical books like this. I wrote you also on twitter, but I'm sure you receive too many tweets so I understand. Thanks in advance!
Maybe you can order via amazon.co.uk or amazon.com via VPN? Sorry it's such a pain! -- @AlexisOhanian
What was your runner up to reddit? Is it on the list? I like ripered.
So I assume you were just looking for an odd name people could remember. Do you suggest this plan over a word that people can relate to or tie to a specific idea?
6 visitors upvoted this post.