Gifting my sister an upgrade for the holidays

HP Presents Reinvent Giving with Alexis Ohanian from Collectively on Vimeo.

HP approached me to be a part of their #ReinventGiving campaign and I thought there is no better person to give the new HP Spectre x360 to this holiday season than my sister Amy, since she doesn’t treat herself to a lot of things.

Amy works long hours as a nurse for a children’s hospital in Boston and is the last person to upgrade her own personal items -- if it works, it’s good enough for her. As a tech founder + investor, I’ve got a reputation to uphold, so a part of me wants to upgrade her just because it means my sister finally has some modern computing technology. But it’s really because she’s an amazing person who deserves a holiday upgrade.


The HP Spectre x360 is going to be the perfect laptop for her, because it won’t weigh her down (she’s only like 5’1”) and it can go everywhere she goes. It’s also a convertible laptop, so whether she gets some downtime in the break room (rarely) or if she’s at home lounging on the sofa with thirty blankets on her (much more likely) this laptop converts into a tablet and can be her entertainment. And since we live on opposite coasts, the Spectre x360 is the perfect tool to reinvent how Amy and I stay in touch, allowing us to Skype and chat wherever we are. Being able to catch up over video will be such a special way to feel engaged and present in Amy’s life.

The best part of gifting a laptop is thinking all the ways Amy will be able to use it. That’s also the theme behind HP’s latest video about gifting; I love seeing the effect technology can have on someone’s life.


When Amy’s not, you know, saving lives of cute kids, she’s an active runner. In that frigid Boston winter, she’s going to need a new fleece and headphones to keep her mind off how cold it is.

As part of the program HP also gave me a Spectre x360, I’m most excited about finally having a touch screen on my laptop. This feels like something I should have had years ago. I spend a lot of my time on the road so the lightweight form-factor, combined with solid laptop power -- but a long battery-life -- are all very appealing.


Thanks to HP, you can enter for a chance to win your own Spectre x360 to gift to someone you care about. All you have to do is comment #ReinventGivingSweepstakes on this Tweet. NO PURCHASE NECESSARY.  Open to legal residents of the 50 U.S. (D.C.) 18+.  Ends 12/14/16.  For Official Rules, including odds and prizes, visit http://bit.ly/2gBz4HD. Void where prohibited.

This post is sponsored by HP, but all opinions are my own.